Upgrading Camping Frying Pans and Spatula

Because I am a camping nerd or degenerate if you prefer, I’ll post about the new spatula and frying pan I used last weekend. I’m trying to get my camping utensils and cookware narrowed down to a set that I can use forever and not have to keep upgrading. I think I’m there finally. For starters, I often use cast iron, and I have both 12” and 9” cast iron pans with which I always use a stainless steel Coleman spatula, it works perfect and the cast iron never gets scratched. However, I don’t want to use cast iron every single time. It’s a hassle to clean and season every single use (not really, but) so sometimes I just want to use normal frying pans (depends on what I’m cooking as well).  Well I don’t want to scratch those pans with stainless steel spatulas, and the plastic ones I have tried eventually get melted or deformed. Long story short, I found the answer in a $3 spatula from Wal-Mart (it pains me to admit that, I’m usually a Target guy). This Tasty spatula it hard rubber with just enough bend to get around the side walls of a frying pan. It hasn’t shown signs of melting and should last a long time.

Last week I bought a GSI 10” Pinnacle frying pan. The surface is scratch-resistant and prevents sticking. It’s fantastic. I’ve only used it once but when I got home cleaning it consisted of a quick scrub with hot water and soap. There was no food residue whatsoever.

So I bought another one. Now I’m officially done buying frying pans — forever. My cast iron will last longer than I will, and these GSI pans honestly should too. The handles fold in, and two pans can nestle inside each other.

The reason I bought the GSI pans was because I was becoming frustrated with my Coleman and other GSI 9” steel pans. Cooking something as greasy as sausage even caused sticking with these pans. And don’t get me started on eggs! As you can see in the photo below, the black non-stick  coating comes  off — that’s the GSI, the Coleman has better cover, but they literally are the exact same pan.

So now I have pans and cooking utensils I don’t plan on replacing. In fact, I think I’m pretty well-covered on all aspects of camp cooking for the foreseeable future. The thing I really need to upgrade is my camp cooking menu. That will come with time.

Author: Past Tents

Discovering Kansas state parks, hiking, camping Colorado, reading Nature books.

Leave a comment